The Fault in Our Stars Movie Review!

Standard

bajo-la-misma-estrellaSince the movie The Fault in Our Stars came number one in the box office this week, and because I went and watched it, I figured I would at least tell y’all what I thought of it. (Warning: my opinions come from someone who has yet to read the book, I promise its on y TBR list, I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

Okay, so I thought the movie was actually really good. For once, the movie didn’t completely disgrace and shame the book. From what I could tell, it followed the plot fairly well and even included most of the details. The movie was like 2 hours, but it wasn’t drawn out, I think they set the movie at a really good pace to where it moves smoothly and fast enough to keep your attention. The actors were all great, showing a great depth of emotion and really seemed to make their characters come alive. The movie was sad, though not as sad as I thought it would be (I kinda figured it would be like Nicholas Sparks sad…..). The end was really sad, in that, holy crap its a good ending but my eyes can’t stop watering kind of way. 

Since I have NOT read the book yet, I thought it would only be right to get the opinions of the movie from someone who HAS read the book. My sister Anna gladly accepted this offer to let y’all know what she thought (She’s read the book at least 15 times and was muttering throughout the movie). Soooo, here is her take on the movie!

Anna’s Movie Review:

Since I have read the book many times, I figured it would be nice to share my point of view.The movie and the book, in all reality, could almost be viewed as two separate entities. The movie had a lot of detail, but switched around the plot a bunch, while the book kept a steady rise and fall. I really had higher expectations for the movie, since John Green was on set the entire time, but as pointed out by my sister Alyssa, he could not change the script after he signed over the rights. Hopefully the next movie, he will have editorial powers. 

419339-the-fault-in-our-stars-movie-the-latest-photos-from-the-set-featuring-The actors, I felt, captured the characters perfectly in terms of personality. Shailene Woodley had just the right amount of awkward-ness to play a teenaged Hazel, who had to grow up way to fast. Ansel Elgort had the perfect attitude to play the pretentious Augustus, and the silly, joke making Gus. Nat Wolff, however,was not who I imagined to play Isaac. Isaac struck me as more of a pretentious sort, almost like Augustus, in the book he makes sly jokes and allows himself to imagine a life without cancer.

Due to how the characters are described in the book, Hazel was seen as a small girl with puffy cheeks, Augustus Waters described her with, “You’re like a millennial Natalie Portman. Like V for Vendetta Natalie Portman.” Very, very short hair, puffed out cheeks, and a smile worth a million. Hazel did not agree, but I felt like she did not have a high self-esteem, possibly due to contracting cancer at a young age.

408904thefaultinourstarsmovieauthorjohngreensharesmorefromtheseAugustus is described as pretentious and handsome. Ansel had that air about him, but he is not ow I imagined Gus to be, Isaac, however, was perfectly how I figured he would look. The nerdy type (really nice hair, also) and in Alyssa’s words, “The hot gamer with a fetish for breaking trophies.” … I don’t even know.

Over all, the movie was quite nice. If you had read the book it was about 10% worse (which isn’t saying anything, seeing as how the book was amazing) and a 16th the sadness. (But no, seriously, read the book Alyssa.)

 

tfios

One response »

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this brilliant blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new
    updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

